About Us About Us

The Consulate General of India, Hambantota, was inaugurated on 28th November, 2010 by Honorable Mr.S.M. Krishna, former Minister of External Affairs, Government of India, New Delhi. The Consulate has four Districts under its consular jurisdiction: Hambantota, Galle, Matara and Monaragala District of Uva Province. The present Consul General, Mr. Dipin P.R assumed charge on 28 August 2020.

The Consulate provide visas and other consular services and also facilitates the educational, cultural and trade interactions of people from these districts with India. Consulate also offers various training programmes in capacity building under the Technical and Economic Cooperation (ITEC) programme of the Govt. of India for Sri Lanka professionals between the age of 25 and 45 working in the government or private sector.  

The Consulate also facilitate admission to undergraduate, post graduate courses in Indian Universities under the various scholarship programmes offered by the Govt. of India.